Swansea University launches new Florence Mockeridge Fellowship Group to help researchers reach their full potential

Swansea University’s Senior Pro-Vice-Chancellor for research, Professor Hilary Lappin-Scott, has today (16 March 2018) announced the launch of the Florence Mockeridge Fellowship Group which aims to enable research staff to fulfil their potential.

Following a rigorous selection process, seven researchers from across the University have been selected for the Fellowship Group. They are:

  • Dr Amy Jenkins (Psychology)
  • Dr Chenfeng Li (Engineering)
  • Dr Claire Barnes (Medical Engineering)
  • Dr Eoin Price (English Literature and Creative Writing)
  • Dr Wei Zhang (Engineering)
  • Dr Hannah Sams (Welsh)
  • Dr Enrico Andreoli (Engineering)

The Florence Mockeridge Fellowship Group

The Group will give the chosen academics the opportunity to grow their research and reach their potential. From April, each month for six months the group will meet to be trained in these skills needed to be successful in their fellowship applications. Mentorship will also be provided throughout by Swansea academics of the highest calibre.

The Group is named after Florence Mockeridge, an inspirational figurehead and a formidable and trailblazing academic who was Professor of Botany at Swansea University between 1922 and 1954.

Professor Lappin-Scott said: “Swansea University aims to provide an environment of research excellence, with research that is world leading, globally collaborative and internationally recognised, with fellowships playing an integral role. As we look forward to celebrating our centenary in 2020, all of the research areas go hand in hand with our ambition for Swansea University to go from strength to strength and to enable our research staff to fulfil their potential.”