Senior Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Swansea University honoured by British Science Association

The British Science Association (BSA) today (5 September 2017) awarded Honorary Fellowships to Swansea University Senior Pro-Vice-Chancellor Professor Hilary Lappin-Scott, TV presenter Liz Bonnin, broadcaster Dr Adam Rutherford, and renowned choreographer Wayne McGregor.

Each year, members of the BSA are invited to nominate individuals to be considered as Honorary Fellows. These are people who have made an outstanding contribution to promoting science, or who have engaged and inspired people directly through science.

Professor Lappin-Scott joins the Association’s illustrious rank of Honorary Fellows alongside individuals such as Sir David Attenborough, Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Professor Brian Cox, Lord Browne of Madingley, and Professor Alice Roberts. 

Pro VC Hilary Lappin-ScottProfessor Lappin-Scott (pictured) is a microbiologist who studies the function of microbial biofilms. She was elected as only the second female President of the Society for General Microbiology (SGM) in 2009 and served in this role until 2012. She was also President of the International Society for Microbial Ecology (ISME) at the same time, serving two terms in this role (2006 - 2010). She is also a Trustee of the Daphne Jackson Trust, was awarded the WISE Hero Award 2016, and has been shortlisted for the Womenspire  STEM/ PioneerAward 2017.

In her role as Senior Pro-Vice-Chancellor at Swansea University, she is the lead on research and innovation, and has a cross-cutting role on strategic development. She is also a high-profile champion of gender equality within STEM, and is the University’s lead for its Athena SWAN agenda. She is also the author of the Disruptive STEMinist blog.

Professor Hilary Lappin-Scott said: “I’m absolutely delighted to be named as an Honorary Fellow of the BSA, particularly following on from the huge success of the British Science Festival at Swansea University last year. I'm looking forward to continuing our important public engagement work, with events such as the Swansea Science Festival, for years to come. I'd like to thank everyone at the BSA for their support”.

Katherine Mathieson, Chief Executive of the BSA, added: “I am thrilled to welcome Adam, Hilary, Liz and Wayne as Honorary Fellows of the British Science Association. Each, in their own unique way, has made a significant contribution to science in society and endorsing it as interesting, inspiring and inclusive. They are wonderful supporters for broadening the appeal and definition of science and diversifying its audiences; I look forward to working with them in the future as we work to embed science as part of society and culture”.

Professor Lappin-Scott and the other three new Honorary Fellows will be officially presented by the BSA President for 2016/ 17, Professor Uta Frith DBE FRS, at the annual President’s dinner at the British Science Festival on Thursday 7 September.

You can book FREE tickets to this year’s Festival, which takes place in Brighton – co-hosted by the University of Brighton and the University of Sussex – from 5 - 9 September, on the website: